Oak ribbed sock

I found a bag of sock yarn at one of our local thrift stores, so I have been knitting socks again this week. More precisely I have been knitting the Oak Ribbed Sock from one of my favorite books, “Knitting vintage socks” by Nancy Bush.

IMG_5149

Now, as much as I love this book, I do have at least one problem with it: Why does my heel not look like the one pictured? Why is my heel flap so long compared to the pictures? I feel like they must have cheated some how, knitted one sock and written the pattern for another. After being annoyed for a while, I decided to fix it. In the picture below you can see the sock pictured, the grey sock followed the books pattern and the blue sock I my revised pattern.

IMG_5161

The pattern calls for a heel flap worked over a total of 32 rows, slipping the first st on each row. For the gusset you then pick up one st for each slipped st = 16 st.This creates a heel that is too long compared with the gusset. My revised heel flap is worked over a total of 24 rows, the first st on each row is not slipped, but either knit or purled depending on which side of the work you are on. For the gusset I still pick up 16 st, that is every two out of three edge st. I continue according to pattern. This heel looks a lot more like the one pictured, and the gusset width matches the heel flap length. I wish I had done this a long time ago, like 10 pairs of socks ago.

 

Leave a Reply

