Secret Santa Socks and broken blog

Last Wednesday my secret Santa gift finally arrived, it only took about a month and a half to reach me from Canada. I do a lot of gift exchanges on redditgifts.com, and can highly recommend it to anyone who thinks that exchanging gifts across the world sounds like fun. I wanted to post this right away, but my blog was broken and I haven’t been able to post until now. I never did find out what the problem was, it just sort of fixed itself.

IMG_4739

My Santa got me some lovely Patons variegated sock yarn. I you hadn’t figured it out yet, socks are my favorite thing to knit. I got so excited about the yarn that I knitted the socks in a day.

IMG_4744

I have kind of a Love-Hate relationship with variegated  yarn. I love knitting with it, but I am not really crazy about the finished project. I get especially annoyed if I cant get the stripes to match, as in this case. There just wasn’t enough yarn.

IMG_4748

I used the pattern for Lichen ribbed socks from Nancy Bush’s “knitting vintage socks”. ( http://www.amazon.com/Knitting-Vintage-Socks-Nancy-Bush/dp/1931499659 ). I love that book. I never get tired of knitting the socks in it. At the beginning of the book she describes different heels and toes, so if you get bored with a particular way of shaping your socks, you can just pick a new one. My only problem is that I knit quite loosely, so when the patterns that call for size 2 mm needles, I have gotten into trouble at least once.

IMG_4758

Thank you sweet Santa.

Leave a Reply

